Candy Girl: A Year in the Life of an Unlikely Stripper by Diablo Cody

     I don’t know why this title grabbed my attention – could be that I have a perverse interest in worlds I’ll never venture into.  Having an anthropology degree always makes me curious about other cultures and subcultures.  Diablo Cody even mentions anthropology many times as she describes her Candy_girl observations and experiences during her year as a stripper.  So, taking the anthropology metaphor even further, I’d consider this a “mini-ethnography” of the world of stripping in Minneapolis.  Cody’s writing style is easy to read and her metaphors are hilarious, sometimes sneaking up behind you and smacking you on the … err … back after you’ve already moved onto the next sentence!  I laughed out loud so many times.  I wouldn’t describe her language as clean by any means, so if profanity offends you, this is not the book for you.  Otherwise, I highly recommend this entertaining memoir of a self-described "geek copy-typist" gone mad.

(Heidi Schachtschneider Cary, Information Services)

Leave a comment