Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling

Harry_potter_1      I believe myself to be the only Harry Potter fan who has not yet read the latest book, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince.  But circumstances during the time when it came out prevented me from reading it and then I was going to read it on a trip, but I didn’t.  Then I decided to wait until I saw The Goblet of Fire in the theater, which I did and it was fantastic, riveting, and heart-wrenching.  I left the theater wanting to read – not the latest book, but the book that follows The Goblet of Fire:  this here book The Order of the Phoenix.  You see, I am one of the folks in this world that, if enough time passes, forgets many of the details of a book I have read.  And in the rare chance that I do reread a book, it is almost as if I have not read it at all!  So had I just skipped on to The Half-Blood Prince after leaving the theater, I would have done so almost as if I had not read The Order of the Phoenix at all.  All of this delay in my reading The Half-Blood Prince is much to my husband’s chagrin, because he read it back when it first came out and has wanted to talk to me about it ever since. 

     Those of you out there who have already read all the Potter books may be thinking: “Why would I want to read The Order of the Phoenix again?” Good question.  But I have heard many people who have read The Half-Blood Prince saying quizzical things like “I must go back and reread all the books and look for details …” or “I have to go back through the previous books and look for clues …” All statements like that make me very curious about all this need to go back to the other books.  So, I can’t wait till I can join the ranks once I finish that final book and know what the heck everyone is talking about.  But for now, I plod along in The Order of the Phoenix contentedly, tucking away “details” or “clues” that I think might be handy for the future, but I really don’t know what I am looking for!   All that truly matters is that I am in the world of Harry Potter, right?

(Heidi Schachtschneider Cary, Information Services)

Leave a Reply

